Switching between Ubuntu/Kubuntu/Xubuntu uspalsh

When I installed Kubuntu desktop to try KDE in my laptop, it replaced my earlier Ubuntu usplash such that when I booted up it showed a kubuntu splash screen. I have been wondering how to change this back for almost a month now, having tried a few tricks which did not work.

Today, when trying to get something for ‘tuxplorer’s query, I got to see this ubuntu forum post which actually helped me in getting back my ubuntu usplash screen. Here is what you gotta do..

techno_freak@edgy:~$ sudo update-alternatives --config usplash-artwork.so
Password:

There are 2 alternatives which provide `usplash-artwork.so'.

Selection    Alternative
-----------------------------------------------
1    /usr/lib/usplash/usplash-theme-ubuntu.so
*+        2    /usr/lib/usplash/usplash-theme-kubuntu.so

Press enter to keep the default[*], or type selection number: 1
Using `/usr/lib/usplash/usplash-theme-ubuntu.so' to provide `usplash-artwork.so'.
techno_freak@edgy:~$ sudo dpkg-reconfigure usplash
update-initramfs: Generating /boot/initrd.img-2.6.17-10-386

6 thoughts on “Switching between Ubuntu/Kubuntu/Xubuntu uspalsh

  1. Pingback: I ssh need to adjust my screen resolution on VIRTUAL TERMINAL 99% of all the documentation ive been sifting through by New Zealand Web Hosting Provider

  2. Pingback: tinokissig.de » Blog Archive » links for 2008-04-07

Leave a comment