[Bash] Quick file renaming

I had a bunch of .deb packages from the apt archive. But the problem was that in the names of the packages, there was a “%3” in the places where there should be a “_”. We found that the symbol was corresponding to the underscore character and it was somehow getting replaced in the name. Hence we needed to rename all filenames, changing the ‘%3’ to ‘_’ and I was requested to write a quick script. As my usual bash buddy was busy, I resolved to some Google’ing and found this.

I first started by trying to echo the file name, then replace the ‘%3’ with ‘_’, print it, and finally rename the file.

for FILE in `ls`; do echo $FILE; done; 
for FILE in `ls`; do NEWFILE=`echo $FILE | sed 's/%3a/_3a/g'`; echo $NEWFILE; done;
for FILE in `ls`; do NEWFILE=`echo $FILE | sed 's/%3a/_3a/g'`; mv "$FILE"  $NEWFILE ; done;

But when I execute my final script, it informs that the oldfile and newfile to the `mv` command are the same. Think the `sed` command itself renamed the file. Anyways, it did the job I wanted it to 🙂

Updates from floyd_n_milan:

for file in *; do mv -v "$i" "${i/\%3a/_3a/}"; done;

Leave a Reply

