Improved desktop

Off late, I was not satisfied with my desktop i.e. how it looked. One of the main things I like it to have is display fonts small but still crisp so i can comfortably read them. I like small icons, small window border, etc. This makes me have more stuffs on my small 14″ display. I was even thinking of trying other desktop managers/window managers.

Yesterday when me and Onkar shinde were discussing about something else, he told me about the availability of Intel drivers as the default one. He asked me to install the driver and try. So did I, installed ‘xserver-xorg-video-intel’ and restarted X. The main aim was to get a better resolution option and ability to reduce my resolution at times when projectors ask for a 800×600. When I logged in back, I was surprised to see everything a bit smaller than what they were. Suddenly my desktop seem to be more spacious and I just love it.

Even the font rendering has changed, now I see crisper fonts (am not sure, I feel so). But surely I have more space on my desktop to keep stuffs. I was also trying out gdesklets (on my KDesktop) and with the new drivers, everything seems to be perfuct for me.

If you have an Intel video card and using the ‘xserver-xorg-i810’ driver, then give up a try with intel driver. But remember to edit xorg.conf in the “Device” section as shown below,

Section "Device"
Identifier "Intel Corporation Mobile Integrated Graphics Controller"
Driver "intel"
BusID "PCI:0:2:0"
EndSection

4 thoughts on “Improved desktop

  1. @ Sridhar,

    Ohh, for me terminal fonts almost look the same but the resolution and other fonts have changed that I feel like my desktop has become more accommodating than before. Btw, am not using GNOME but KDE 😉

  2. Some corrections
    1. -intel driver is in universe repo in feisty. Although it supports almost all the resolutions provided by latest intel cards, a warning and disclaimer is needed in the post. 🙂
    2. -intel driver is in main and default in gutsy which is yet to be released. 😀
    3. Capitalization for my surname i.e. Shinde. 😛

Leave a Reply

